Aquarium Overhaul

I had a bout of itchy green fingers again, and browsing through Pinterest, looking at the lush aquariums some people have done, isn’t exactly helping. Since last week was a long weekend in Singapore as Polling Day falls on a Friday (which I hope, all my fellow Singaporeans got whoever they voted for), I decided to give in, because what better to get rid of temptation?

I went Driftwood hunting a few weeks back, in the pursuit of that perfect, branchy looking one. Finally, I ended up with 2, rather nice looking ones. I had the idea of putting both of them into the tank, and went on to soak them in hot water for about 2 weeks prior to the overhaul, trying to get rid of any nasty stuff and tannin (boiling would be best, but I doubt I will be allowed to ‘cook’ my wood in pots used for cooking, with my germaphobe dad around).

Polling day came, my man bought me Macdonald’s breakfast, because, what better way to start the morning but with hot pancakes and scrambled eggs, before I went to do my part as a citizen, secretly hoping the potentially elected will result in a 5th mall in my area, and maybe, just maybe, Chacott will open a store here (hint hint). Anywaaay, after citizen business, its back to my tank. I drained about half the water out of my tank, which required several huge pails, since my tank is about 14 gallons, or 60 litres, not exactly fun. Luckily, my man was around to do the heavy duty. I then removed most of my plants, since it might be easier to get my fauna out without the obstructions. Which led to a conundrum, yanking my plants out will lead to an ammonia spike, which is why I wanted to remove my fauna in the first place. So which comes first?

In the end, I tried to remove the plants as gently as I could, praying that each cloud of dust will settle soon. At the same time, trying to remove as much fauna as I could into a little pail with an airstone, with little success, since I only managed to get about 1/3 of the population out. The Platys and Betta are not much of a problem, since they are relatively slow, some rummy noses were caught by trapping them against the glass and net, the Celestial Pearl Danios proved impossible, and the Shrimps and Otocinclus, needless to say, are impossible. I’m sorry to say, homegirl here has no patience in catching fishes. By now, I have removed most of my plants, except those that I thought looked good in that area and my tank was as hazy as Singapore right now. Occasionally, I managed to catch a glimpse of red (from the remaining rummy noses in the tank).

I kept the filter of the main tank running, to try to get rid of the cloudiness. I then proceeded to put in the Driftwood. Lo behold, homegirl has overestimated the size of her tank once again, and putting both driftwoods in would be impossible. It’s ok, I can work with one. Rescaping the soil would not be a great idea since I still have some fauna in there and I have no wish for them to die from the Ammonia (my heart breaks whenever one of them dies, don’t judge!).

After close to 5 hours of all these shenanigans, I am now really proud of my tank. It looks so much better and less cluttered than before! Still waiting for the Microswords and Micranthemum Monte Carlo to carpet…

So here’s the before…….

IMG_5210

….. and the after

IMG_5182

Let my know your thoughts, if anything else can be improved.

On the ballet front, I haven’t been going for classes, since I had exams and then it was term break for my ballet school. I feel awfully guilty for not attending classes as regularly. Anyhow, World Ballet Day is coming up soon (1 October!), and I’m super excited. They will be streaming 5 ballet companies LIVE on Youtube! It seems just yesterday, I was camping in front of my laptop, with bags of chips, and feeling the pangs of jealousy of how my extensions are not as high, or that petite allegro still befuddles me, BUT STILL, watching them practice is really inspirational! Even genius ballerinas do not get away with training! 23 hours of watching behind the scenes footage from The Australian Ballet, Bolshoi Ballet, The Royal Ballet, The National Ballet of Canada, and San Francisco Ballet.

Here’s the schedule if you need it:

British Standard Time
3 am – 8 am: The Australian Ballet live from Melbourne
8 am – 11 am: The Bolshoi Ballet live from Moscow
11 am – 4 pm: The Royal Ballet live from London
4 pm – 9 pm: The National Ballet of Canada live from Montréal
9 pm – 2 am: San Francisco Ballet live from San Francisco

Eastern Standard Time
10 pm – 3 am: The Australian Ballet live from Melbourne
3 am – 6 am: The Bolshoi Ballet live from Moscow
6 am – 11 am: The Royal Ballet live from London
11 am – 4 pm: The National Ballet of Canada live from Montréal
4 pm – 9 pm: San Francisco Ballet live from San Francisco

Signing off~

Leave a Reply

