Australia – conquering land, air, and sea. Part III

This is the third installation to a three part series, so please read Part 1 and Part 2.

Day 7: Miles -> Gold Coast

Returning to Gold Coast also marks the end of our epic road trip. It was bittersweet, since we all can’t wait to just get our asses off the car and unto a bed. From Miles, it was another 1-2 hours drive before hitting that ever so familiar M1 expressway that we took from Gold Coast and driving through Brisbane.

While on the way to our AirBnB, we saw Main beach and we knew we had to turn in to check it out. You cannot imagine how refreshing it was for such a change in scenery; from the dry Savanna to the salty winds of the Beach.

After having fun on the beach, we needed to get a much needed breakfast, since our last proper meal was the microwaved sandwich at the truck stop.

 

More tradish Bacon and Eggs for me

As we still had quite a few hours before we can check-in to our AirBnB, we decided to just walk around Broadbeach.

We wanted to check out Burleigh Heads lookout point, but really sadly, we couldn’t find the place. We were searching for about an hour to two using Google Maps before deciding to give up. We also wanted to checkout Skypoint, which is one of the tallest building to check out the scenery, but when we saw the price, we were like ‘nah’. After 2 failed missions, we decided to just go to our AirBnb.

The view from our AirBnB was amazing! We could easily see the beach and all the surfers doing their thang. As we had a really long day, we decided to just head to the beach for some quality rest and relaxation. Dinner was just catching up on some fast food such as Dominoes and Red Rooster (which we honestly have no idea how to eat since we ordered a whole chicken and there were stuffing in there. Weren’t very sure if we were suppose to eat the stuffing though).

Day 8: Gold Coast Universal Studios

We wanted to go to DreamWorld, but due to the tragedy that struck, DreamWorld was closed. So we decided to go to MovieWorld instead, since theme parks are one of the main attractions when in Gold Coast.

All ready to conquer the coasters!

Funny story about the red coaster in the above picture. While we were queuing for the entrance tickets, we saw people screaming from the red coaster, and I told my friends: I am not going on that.  So once we were in, I saw there was a Super Man ride and just made a beeline towards it. Soon I was strapped to the seats. It was a slow ride, since the ride took us around some displays and props; the story goes that the subway has collapsed and we needed to get out. Before I can think about anything else, we were zooming upwards super fast (or “Super Man” fast as what the speakers were blasting)! I had no time for regrets.

When the ride was finally over, I had no idea what the hell has happened, my legs were jelly and I was dizzy. When we got out and looked, yes, this was the red coaster that I said right at the start that I wasn’t going to get on. We also learnt from the other tourists that the Super Man ride was probably to scariest here.

My guys were telling me ” you survived skydiving, what is roller-coaster to you?” Oh well, I did not regret not taking the Arkham Asylum coaster, even though my friend did say that it wasn’t as scary as the Superman ride.

This was on my ‘must try’ food list; it was really quite nice

This Flume ride, is seriously one of the best I’ve every been on! I was expecting a normal straightforward Flume ride, but this, this was far from straight forward. It is probably one of my favourite rides as well.

Who can miss the parade?

For Singaporeans of my generation, Scooby’s Spooky Coaster is almost the same as the Panasonic ride in old Escape theme park at Downtown East. To be short, this is an indoor coaster which is completely in the dark. I was not expecting this to be honest as I saw a lot of children rushing to go on this ride. What I got was a really fast coaster that was really rough as well! Our seating arrangements was kinda wrong as we’ve got 2 heavy weights on the same side of the car so I was fearing for my life every time the coaster made a sharp turn! 

After a really tiring day, we decided to go to the famous Surfer’s Paradise for their night market. I was expecting to be able to try some street food, but unfortunately, all they sell there are jewelry and knick knacks. It was quite entertaining nonetheless.

Day 9

This was the last day of our epic journey in Australia, and man, I’m starting to love this place so much. The dread to go back home to my flooding inbox *sighs*. Not wanting to waste a single minute, I woke up extremely early, 5AM, to be exact, to do what I came to Gold Coast to do, surf!

Total spending:

Accomodation

Hervey Bay Motel: $35.50/pax

AirBnB at Arlie Beach: $83.75/pax

AirBnB at Cairns: $65.50/pax 

AirBnB at Gold Coast: $79.50/pax

Car rental: $99.83/pax (not incl. petrol)

Air Tickets: $446.70/pax

Skydiving: $485.83/pax (incl. photos + video)

Diving: $328.20pax

Movieworld: $79/pax

As usual, a few tips before ending off:

  1. When planning a road trip, ensure that all drivers bring along their driving license. There may also be additional driver charge. Also, always get car insurance.
  2. Do ensure to follow traffic rules, since their traffic cameras are really well hidden.
  3. Rental cars usually does not come with the equipment to pay tolls. So you might have to go online to make the payment.

 

Leave a Reply

